Skip to main content

Water Management Association of Ohio

                                The only organization dedicated to all of Ohio's water resources.

HomeAbout Us
 "Water Management Association of Ohio is growing - both in membership and breadth of activities. A lot has been accomplished and it's thanks to the thought and foresight of past WMAO Board Members." - Alex Covert, WMAO Past President

About US

The Water Management Association of Ohio (WMAO) is the only organization dedicated to all of Ohio's water resources.

VISION: To be recognized statewide as the go-to community for people who manage and safeguard Ohio's water resources.

MISSION: To support Ohio's water resource professionals with essential information, education, and networking opportunities.

With the support and participation of its members, WMAO has made great strides in support of the livelihood and future of water resource professions and the industry. WMAO membership is an investment in this mission. We keep you connected and informed.

                         WMAO Divisions         

  WMAO Board of Directors
Craig Smith President      

Eugene C. Braig IV Vice President

Alex Covert Past President

Gregory Nageotte Treasurer

Kari Mackenbach                  Secretary

Dan Pizzino Division Director—ODSO
Duane Matlack Division Director—OFMA

Doug Kane Division Director—OLMS

Kathy Wade Dorman Division Director—OSWA
Kurt Keljo Division Director—OWPA 

Larry Antosch Director—Agriculture 

Dennis Clement Director—Education

Mike Ekberg Director—Groundwater

Scot Hindall Director—Mineral Resource Mngt

Boris Slogar Director—Navigation & Recreation

John Lenhart Director—Research & Data Mngt

Dick Lorenz Director—Water & Wastewater

John Herchl Director-at-Large

OPEN Director-at-Large

Hannah Comune Affiliated Student Organization

WMAO Conferences
and Networking Events


The annual WMAO conference is held each November as a venue to share the latest research and technical information related to water resource management for Ohio professionals. Several WMAO divisions participate as concurrent sessions or in a full day track of presentations.

A quarterly luncheon seminar series offers an academic overview on a water resource topic, hosted in partnership with the Ohio Water Resources Center at The Ohio State University.

WMAO Scholarships
and Ohio State Science Day


WMAO partners with The Columbus Foundation to give an annual $1,000 scholarship to one undergraduate and one graduate college student pursuing a degree with a focus in water resources.

A cash award to the Best Student Research Paper is granted during the annual fall WMAO conference.

WMAO also gives scholarships each spring to high school participants at Ohio State Science Day.

Ohio Water Education 
Program (OWEP)

WMAO offers training throughout the year to Ohio practitioners in Project WET and Healthy Water Healthy People under an agency partnership that includes the Water Management Association of Ohio, Ohio EPA, ODNR, and The Ohio State University.

Contact Dana Oleskiewicz at or 330-466-5631
 if you wish to verify your status as a Water Buffalo.


What is a WMAO Water Buffalo?

Any active or former WMAO members who are Water Resources Professionals, Technicians, or others involved in Ohio’s water resources. To be recognized as a Water Buffalo, an individual should have at least twenty (20) years of service as a WMAO member and have actively participated in the Association while contributing to Ohio’s water resources community.

Why recognize Water Buffalos?  

Successful organizations don’t forget or neglect their past. Water Buffalos can provide this link. They are or represent the history of Water Resources in Ohio. Organizations that don’t consider the past have trouble looking to the future. It also gives Water Buffalos an opportunity to stay somewhat connected to current water resource programs and activities throughout the state. Topics of interest to water buffalos might include historic water resource management programs and topics.

How do we recognize Water Buffalos? 

Publicly recognize all Water Buffalos attending WMAO conferences or meetings by introductions and exclusive lapel pins in the shape of a water buffalo. Congratulations:
Allen, Tom
Antosch, Larry
Bennett, Barbara
Bohla, David
Brate, Arthur
Brookes, Cindy
Buchanan, Beth
Carlson, Robert
Cooke, G. Dennis
Eagon, Herbert
George, Peter
Gray, Jeff
Haefner, Ralph
Heath, Robert
Hill, Daniel
Hindall, Scot
Hindall, Steve
Hoopingarner, John
Jones, Robert
Kelly, Lynn
Kunze, Allison
Lorenz, Richard
Mack, Stephen
Markowitz, Daniel
Markusic, Janis
Mason, Robert
Moore, Carl
Morris, James
Myers, Donna
Noble, Scott
Oleskiewicz, Dana
Ogden, Mark

Rinehart, Kurt
Rose II, John
Rozelle, James
Slogar, Boris
Soltys, Peter
Stock, Joe
Straub, David
Vertrees, Robert
Webb, Jack
Weber, Richard