Skip to main content

Water Management Association of Ohio

                                The only organization dedicated to all of Ohio's water resources.

HomeConference


Background Image URL //s3.amazonaws.com/ClubExpressClubFiles/259593/photos/original/Awards_Luncheon_2_897403391.jpg


52nd Annual WMAO Meeting and Symposium

November 7 - 8, 2023
Crowne Plaza Columbus North, Worthington*


Water: Our Most Valuable Resource

Submit an abstract

We frequently forget the embarrassment of riches that are Ohio’s water resources. On our north, east and south we are bounded by Lake Erie and the Ohio River - transportation routes, places for recreation, and the source of drinking water for millions. Most major tributaries to the waters are entirely within our state, avoiding costly conflicts with our neighbors over who has control of these resources. We have extensive, productive, and well understood aquifer systems. Throughout Ohio’s history access to these resources has attracted industry to our state. Programs like H2Ohio and investment in our water infrastructure increases the value of our water resources. Although the recent events have impacted our water resources, we use the knowledge gained to protect this most valuable resource.

 

Call for Abstracts: Presentations

 

Abstracts are sought for 20-minute oral presentations, Presentations should fit within one of the following categories:

 

  • Agriculture
  • Aquatic habitats
  • Commerce
  • Dam safety
  • Data analysis
  • Drinking water
  • Ecology
  • Education & outreach
  • Fisheries
  • Floodplain management
  • Groundwater
  • Infrastructure
  • Lakes
  • Nonpoint sources
  • Programs / Initiatives
  • Public policy
  • Public health
  • Recreation
  • Sample analysis
  • Streams
  • Stormwater
  • Technology
  • Wastewater
  • Watershed management

 

Abstracts are due by July 7, 2023

Abstracts not selected for presentations may be offered the option of presenting a poster.

Accepted abstracts will be posted on the WMAO web site (http://wmao.org) as part of the conference program. Membership in WMAO is not required of presenters, though we encourage you to consider joining WMAO to support the water resources management community in Ohio.

Presenters will receive complimentary registration on the day of their presentation.

 

Student Posters Abstracts are due by October 15, 2023

WMAO will award 1st and 2nd place prizes ($250 and $100, respectively) for the posters that best capture and explain the research project.

 

Nominations For WMAO Recognition Awards

WMAO awards recognize individuals for distinguished service or demonstrating leadership in the management, use, or enjoyment of Ohio’s water resources. Nominations are being accepted for the following awards:


Ohio Water Hall of Fame
Distinguished Service Award
Technician of the Year
Wayne S. Nichols Award
R. Livingston Ireland Award 

Information about the criteria for each award can be found at WMAO Awards

Nominations are due by September 15, 2023, and can be made at Award Nominations

 

 

Silent Auction to Benefit WMAO Scholarships

 

Please plan on participating in this year’s silent auction, with all proceeds benefiting our WMAO Scholarships and Project WET.






WMAO Conference Planning Committee


Alex Covert, USGS sacovert@usgs.gov 

Eugene Braig, OSU braig.1@osu.edu 

Dennis Clement, OEPA dennis.clement@epa.ohio.gov 

Melissa Menerey,  ODNR melissa.menerey@dnr.ohio.gov

Greg Nageotte, ODA greg.nageotte@agri.ohio.gov

Kim Shaffer, USGS kshaffer@usgs.gov

Craig Smith, Retired OEPA craigsmith.ua@gmail.com
Katharine Schleich, OEPA katharine.schleich@epa.ohio.gov
Lindsay Taliaferro III, OEPA l.taliaferro@epa.ohio.gov